To read: The Great Gatsby

Since I’ve seen the play of the book being read, and the film of a reading of the book is shortly to arrive, I thought I might try to sandwich the actual book in between them. Gatz was a great way of discovering nuances I would have missed in the printed book, but I don’t hold out similar hopes for Luhrmann’s sumptuous reworking. It’s easy to be snobbish, which I don’t want to do as I’m sure it’ll be entertaining and beautiful and, y’know, totes emosh, and I don’t feel this way with all novels, but I think Fitzgerald needs engaging with on a personal level first.

One thing I am going to be snobbish about. That autotune…GOD.

Leave a Reply

