To read: Carson McCullers’ The Member of the Wedding

Kind of a different Follow Friday, once a week I’m going to try to put a book review that’s inspired me to stick something on my to-read list.

This week, it’s Tom Cox’s Guardian review of The Member of the Wedding. I have really vague memories of picking this up at the library about 10 years ago and then never getting very far with it, but The Heart is a Lonely Hunter is one of my all-time favourite novels so I think it’s about time I gave her other work a look – there are only four novels so it’s fair enough to ration them a little…

I dunno, people kind of roll their eyes at literary crushes on Carson McCullers these days, but man it is so easy!

Carson McCullers

 

 

4 responses to “To read: Carson McCullers’ The Member of the Wedding

  1. I love that picture of McCullers! I read The Heart is a Lonely Hunter early in high school, but I think I was too young for it and I don’t really remember much of it. I’ll have to give her another chance one of these days–she sounds like a fascinating figure.

    • It’s just too easy! She lived in this big house with Auden and Benjamin Britten and Gypsy Rose Lee and while it’s almost definitely a cliche to imagine them drinking gin all the live long day…it’s kind of what I like to do anyway (both the imagining and the gin…)

      Definitely give The Heart is a Lonely Hunter another go. I feel like it’s one of those books you can go back to at different stages of your life and it will give up something new.

  2. The Member of the Wedding is one of my favourite books! Brilliant characters, brilliant writing style, simple and effective story. It’s inspired me to try The Heart is a Lonely Hunter which I’m reading at the moment..

Leave a Reply

